>Getting back on track

>Well perhaps things are finally beginning to look up!

The snow is back on the fells, down to 350 metres or so, the days are gradually getting that little bit longer and finally, finally after weeks and weeks of frustration there appears to be a glimmer of running hope.

Tonight, my first full 2 mile run, no stops, only a slight background ache. A real chance to begin to feel optimistic again. But I remind myself that only two days ago I could barely run 400yds without pain, coming off the back of a perhaps slightly too energetic 10 miles to Kentmere and back on my road bike the day before. I’m not particularly religious but please god let this be the start of a proper recover and return to full fitness, I keep reminding myself that I am running out of weeks to return to competitive fitness.


Dry Stone Wall in progress!

The one advantage of being injured is that it allows you to do all those things you normally find a perfectly good excuse to avoid, but I have to say I was mildly impressed with the small dry stone wall I built at the weekend. All I can say is that I’m glad I am not having to rebuild any boundary walls on the fells, that could take a little bit longer…

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

