>The 10KM mark

>Well 12 weeks since rupturing my knee tendon and some 4 weeks since I started partial excercise again I have managed to run my first 10km distance again!

As importantly it has been the end of my first week of running every 3 days. Another marker on this long and frustrating road to full recovery.

After a pretty grotty day, Saturday evening proved to be delightful with amazing and vivid light casting across the fells. And so I opted for my familiar run upto Potter Tarn but this time continued farther onto Gurnal Dubs. If I needed to remind myself how long it is since I have ran seriously, the last time I past this spot, there were folks ice skating on the tarn!

The one interesting aspect of not focussing single mindedly on purely running, is that it has given me an excuse to concentrate on other things, for the moment that is navigation. My theory being that if I cant run at full speed I will at least concentrate on out navigating the competition. Its usually pretty good but I would like to reach the status of being a ‘Human GPS’. Apparently pacing is not that easy to do when running, but I know from my mountain work how accurate it is, so have spent the last couple of runs meticuously counting paces and comparing it against the underfoot terrain.

On a not so good note, I have decided to pull out of this years 3 Peaks Fell Race. The event is only 3 weeks away and even if I could run the distance in this time, I dont think it would be very sensible and I certainly wont be competitive.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

