>Back to Kentmere

>After nearly four months since I last traced the skyline of Kentmere I was back. As sunday morning dawned bright and warm, the strong April sunshine continuing for the Lake District I headed off on another Kentmere horseshoe round.

It was not the earliest of starts, and as I zipped down the lanes out of Staveley I was questionning whether i would even find anywhere to park, luckily there was one ‘sensible’ space left on the edge of the road which I bagged. Fell shoes on and i was off, just a little after 9am.

Initially the air was cool but I was quickly feeling the heat both in the sun and in my legs as I started the grind up to the top of the Garburn Pass. Picking off the groups of fell walkers one by one occupied my mind.

Yoke from the Garburn Pass

After 45 minutes or so I reached the top of Yoke, stopping briefly to rehydrate before continuing on towards Ill Bell and Froswick. By now the sun was high in the sky and it was feeling warm, the dust was clinging to my forehead but I pushed on, spurred on by the legions of comments from fell walkers. I must admit it is always nice to see the regard fellow mountain travellers, whether they be walkers. climbers or mountain bikers have for fell runners. I was affectionately described as the second ‘nutter’ one group had seen that day.

Froswick from High Street

As I circled around the edge of High Street, I held back a little, conscious of a slight stiffening in my left knee, but luckily nothing too much to worry about and I picked my way down to the valey floor down the Nan Bield Pass, the Harter Fell continuation would have been a fell too far at the moment.

Shortly after 11am the church at Kentmere came into view. It was never going to be a PB but that round of Kentmere was more significant than any stopwatch could convey.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

