>Mostly Sunny

>As parts of the Britain (or should that be southern England?) basked in glorious bank-holiday sunshine and warmth, I skirted through a brisk north-westerly and hail showers. Eventually running a slight variation on leg 2 of the Bob Graham Round.


Having been dropped off at Newsham House, close to Threlkeld my initial plan was to run along the spine of Helvellyn and down to Dunmail Raise where my lift would be waiting! My legs were still half asleep as the slog began across open fell on the climb up towards Clough Head, managing to run the initial section before breaking into an calf sapping slog up the NW ridge.

From the summit of Clough Head the terrain improved and it was a steady run first over Great Dodd, only a slight hill but still runnable before series of moderate climbs and fast descents Watsons Dodd and Stybarrow Dodd. I wasnt running to any pace, just wanting to run and concentrating on my navigational pacing and timing which on the fast tracks was comfortingly consistent.


From the summit of Raise, I really began to notice the low temperatures, pulling on my wooly beanie, I continued over White Side and then, as the hoards of walkers appeared, scattered like ants scurrying up and down Helvellyn Lower Man, continued up the zig-zags towards Helvellyn itself, feeling a little out of place as I scooted past one group of walkers after another. The summit of helvellyn came in just under two hours, I was well ahead of schedule.

Nethermost Pike and Dollywagon Pike came and went, before the descent down to Grizedale Tarn. From here I had a change of heart, skirting around the North side of Fairfield before striking up its steep flanks to join the upper reaches of the North Ridge that runs between itself and St Sunday Crag. The Summit of Fairfield was reached in little more than 20 minutes and within the half an hour I had allocated I was back running around the edge of Grizedale Tarn.


A few last slurps of water and it was off down to the valley and my official finish at Dunmail Raise. All that was left then was a 10 minute run down to Steel End for a spot of sunbathing as I awaited my chauffeur.


Distance: 21KM Ascent: 1700m: Time: 3hrs 5 minutes.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Mostly Sunny

  1. duncan says:

    >Hi Richard, enjoying reading your blogg & well done on managing your recovery so well. Quite interested on your route round Potters Tarn, was up there with Children last week & wondered what circuitous route you used?Impressed with your leg 2 time, you must be pleased with that..cheersduncan

Leave a Reply

