>Doing the rounds of Kentmere

>Well its been a mixed bag on the weather front, glorious sunshine, gusty winds and now rain. On the running front it has ranged from running through pea soup fog, hot and sweaty descents and gruelling battles into head-strong winds.


On Sunday it was a full round of kentmere, taking in all the tops on the complete horseshoe. You should know that when even the drive to Kentmere is lethargic it does not bode well. After sitting in the car for a few minutes contemplating life I realised I would actually have to get out, don the running shoes and get a move on! The cloud base was seemingly just above the top of the Church tower, I was not motivated.


As I ran up the Garburn Pass, the cloud gradually begin to lift and break a little so that by the time I had reached the summit of Yoke there were fleeting glimpses of the summit of High Street. The legs were beginning to feel stronger, despite my left knee feeling worryingly weak and my motivation was slowly re-circulating. In fact by the time I skirted around Thornthwaite Crag I had decided to complete the full horsehoe over Harter Fell and Kentmere Pike also and it was a relaxed and not overly drained body that returned to the car just over 2 hours later.


On Thursday i was in overdrive. A hurried drive up the motorway from a day at head-office, a banana thrown down my throat at home and I was back off up the Garburn Pass a little after 630pm. The clear blue skies were in retreat and there was the threat of rain in the air, but as I neared the top of the pass I realised that rain was the least of my problems, a strong a gusting wind was barreling across the fellside making any progress, let alone running, hard work. Twice on the pull up towards Yoke I momentarily stopped and contemplated turning back. Having convinced myself otherwise I opted to traverse around the tops of Froswick and Ill Bell to avoid the worst of the wind. It was still hard work and all the more furstrating since I felt leg strength returning. By the time I reached Nan Bield Pass I had had enough battering, and escaped to the valley floor.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Doing the rounds of Kentmere

  1. >I ran the Kentmere last year ‘just for fun’. It’s a treat on a glorious summer’s day, honest.

Leave a Reply

