>Trials & Tribulations

>Well the entry for the Lake District Mountain Trial recently landed in my inbox, followed shortly afterwards by the release of the start times and venue for this year’s OMM. And, my Physio has finally admitted defeat and I am being referred (hopefully) to a consultant in an attempt to fix my knackered knee.



It is so frustrating, the Lake District Mountain Trial is one of the pinnacle long fell races in the calendar and having deferred my entry last year, due to the event being cancelled I was really psyched to compete this year. But with only 6 weeks to go until the race and no imminent sign of a return to fitness, I have to accept that it will be another year before I race again in the Trial.

It is now 7 months since I ruptured a tendon in my knee and 2 months or more since the latest relapse. I have no idea if they are connected, its clearly not the same injury, having been partially attributed to tendinitus and inflamation but no amount of rest, no amount of physio seems to have had any effect, something is clearly wrong and I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that 2009 just was not meant to be. Whether I will be fit again in time for the OMM, well I remain optimistic but a little doubtful.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

