>The long road

>

Well its the weekend of this years Lowe Alpine Mountain Marathon and I can only watch in envy via the website, the pack and fell shoes are still firmly shut in the cupboard.

Running Pack & Fell shoes are still locked away

Its now just under 3 months since I had keyhole surgery and I’ve still yet to start running. But the good news is that my range of mobility is now close to normal and I’ve now been road cycling for the past 3 weeks. Yesterday I managed my longest ride to date, a 50 minute round-trip to the head of Kentmere and back.

The one thing people keep asking me is am I not getting frustrated by not being able to run or climb. Well the simple answer is that it has now been so long since I did any running that its gone beyond being frustrated – which is a positive thing since it means I am hopefully less inclined to try and do too much too soon. I’ve also been asked whether I plan to give up fell running, again the simple answer is that I cannot envisage a life without it, so i’ve got to start again.

There is still some soreness after exercise and the occasional worrying grate when I weight my knee, but I think I’ll just not worry about these minor things and focus on the improvements. The cyling is slowly building my quad strength back up and hopefully beginning to re-store my fitness (which by my standards is shot to pieces!). My aim is to start some running again in about 3 weeks time.

I’ve two motivators. One is winning and the freedom to run effortlessly and quickly over the mountains and the other…………my new training partner.

Seren is 11 weeks old. A future fell-running champion.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

