Spring Warmth above Langdale

No pictures today, I woke late and was tired from yesterdays jaunt on the road bike, so travelled light today.

Not that it made much impression as a I toiled up the band towards the summit of Bowfell under a sun that even by the standards of those all too rare warm days of early spring was strong.

Today was a training run around a shortened Langdale Horseshoe, taking in Bowfell, Crinkle Crags and Pike O Blisco. It would also give me an opportunity to try and work out the best beeline route to the summit of Bowfell (useful for the Great Lake Race) and also attempt to find, after many failed attempts, the racing line over Crinkle Crags.

It was immediately apparent it was going to be hard work. The heat, and it was heat rather than warmth was already beating down on my back as I started the climb out of Stool End Farm, half an hour or so later and I was running out of gas. Needing to pause frequently and finding maintaining a running pace hard. I reverted to a quick walk as I broke off onto the the path that heads across to the Climbers Traverse, this wasn’t good. So I stopped, sat down, soaked up the sun and gathered my thoughts. My legs were tired.

Refocussed I shortened my stride and ran up the scree choked path from the Climbers Traverse, with Seren pulling at the lead in front. More than an hour had past by the time I reached the hazy summit of Bowfell.

Things eased off from here. A steady descent down to Three Tarns provided a much needed watering hole for Seren and gave me a good excuse for a break, before casting my eye across the rocky spurs, hidden valleys and complex contours that make up the Crinkle Crags, looking for the fast trod. I avoided heading too far right, making a direct line towards a small re-entrant, where a short 40 metre climb and steady traverse brought me alongside the tarn to the north of Long Top that marks the racing trod. The trick seemed definitely to stay high but how I would retrace this line in poor visibility is anyone’s guess. From here a short pull brought me to Long Top.

There was a steady stream of walkers making their way upwards as I descended towards Red Tarn. Glancing at my watch it was too early to go down from here and so I began one final ascent to the summit of Pike O Blisco. I arrived at the summit alone and with little to rush for, sat down for one last rest. Seren was all too quick to lie down, eager to make the most of any shade as she collapsed into a rocky hollow, today was not a day to be covered in fur.

Some 20 minutes later we were back in the valley. Seren happily burying her head into a bowl of water and i longing for a pint.

Time: 2hrs 30 mins.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Fell Running Diaries, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

