Feeling guilty? Only slightly…..

Today i should have been running….I had a half hearted plan to run the Buttermere Sailbeck race but half hearted or not, it was a plan.

But today I just didnt feel like running. The forecast was for everything to go down the pan just before any race was due to start and I just didnt need a battle through gale force winds and torrential rain today.

Do I feel guilty? Only slightly. Its been a reasonably full past few days, with a good run over the Coniston fells on Friday evening followed by a fairly demanding cycle ride yesterday. I say fairly demanding, by the standards of trained Fred Whitton athletes it was probably a steady if slightly taxing jaunt, by the standards of me, who is far from anything relating to cycling and who hasnt cycled further than 70 km this year, indeed barely any year in the past three, it was demanding.

I’d never cycled over the Wrynose Pass before, but by the end of Saturday, I’d cycled over it twice, once from each side, as well as the passes of Kirkstone, Redbank, Blea Water and Ulpha Fell. In total, some 120km of Lakeland lanes and roads. I think I enjoyed it, I didnt enjoy not being particularly strong, but then i was for the most part accompanied by people who spend far more time on two wheels than I do currently. At least I managed to not get off and walk, even if I chose to emit the ‘full tour’ over Birker Fell and Hardknott and opted for a direct return to Cockley Beck and a 40 minute siesta behind a boulder whilst I waited for others.

I’d omitted that extra leg, partly on the basis that I had nothing to prove to anyone and certainly not myself, even without it, I’d done more cycling that day than I had in a long, long time, in fact more cycling than any other time with the exception of an ill-judged entry into the Etape Du Dales some four years ago, the pain of which is still etched on my memory and partly because I was supposed to be racing today, followed by a race on Wednesday, followed by Coniston next week.

And so, on balance, today was probably as good a day to have a rest as any. A new week now beckons.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

