Kendal Winter League

2013 has come in rather as 2012 finished, a bit damp, and the conditions for the first race in this years Kendal Winter League were little different.

Training has been somewhat lacking lately, a combination of excuses amounting to a handful of runs and a couple of track sessions since mid November. And so yet again the fierce fury of Scout Scar would be the perfect tonic for underused legs.

I set off too quickly, struggling with pacing and the reality of not being as quick as I would like currently. The mist was doing its best to tear itself apart from the Scar but there were few views this Sunday. Slightly longer than last years course, we wound our way around the Scar, losing a steady handful of places as I settled into a more realistic position.

Was this year more painful than last? I couldn’t remember, but if my chest was to contract with oxygen debt any more I would be crippled, I felt my body accept a slightly lower gear, I had reached it’ll do mode. My legs had struggled to open into anything like a stride, the whole run had felt force. Remind me to not switch to that mode again.

Some 33 minutes later and I was running hard down the final incline towards the finish. The winter league is just training, it doesn’t matter. Yeah right, and I am also not competitive…some 24 hours later I was back at the track with some rekindled desire.

Position: 27th TBC Time: 33 minutes TBC

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in Fell Race Reports, Fell Running Diaries, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

