The Bob Graham Round #BG20 – March

30th ~ 5th (April): Weekly Stats: 40km / 9,711ft

This week was a rest week. So I opted to do practically nothing during the working week. But on Saturday I found myself heading out with Mike Vogler, who is currently training to complete his Big-3 (having already done the Bob Graham and Paddy Buckley Rounds), on a modified version of the route that the Great Lakes Race follows. Sunday and it was back out around the Kentmere Horseshoe.


23rd ~ 29th: Weekly Stats: 60km approx / 13,733ft

Gone backwards. I’ve rarely felt so bad as I did on Sunday. Having reached the top of Garburn Pass I stumbled back, barely able to walk I was so low on energy. That was the very definite low point of a week that saw me run the Sedbergh Hills race route in under 3 hours and venture back to Kentmere to run the first of no doubt many laps of the Kentmere Horseshoe over the coming months.

WP_20150323_17_44_47_Pro

Beautiful evening light on Froswick

WP_20150323_18_10_13_Pro

Seren watching the sun go down over the Kentmere fells


16th ~ 22nd:Weekly Stats: 80km approx / 17,260ft

This week the shorts have finally had an airing. Although the week started mirky and damp, mid-week briefly felt like Spring. A run around the northern side of Langdale allowed me some fine-line recce’ing of the route around Rossett Pike and up onto Bowfell whilst I also ran most of Leg 3 on Saturday.

WP_20150321_11_30_56_Pro

On Martcrag Moor during a recce of leg 3

WP_20150321_11_46_45_Pro

Pike O Stickle and the central fells from Harrison Stickle



9th ~ 15th: Weekly Stats: 35km approx / 6,693ft (excluding cycling!)

I’ve been in Majorca this week, reminding myself that I’ve not ridden my road bike since August and also reminding myself that you cannot therefore hope to cycle hundreds of kilometres on mountainous roads and not feel considerable pain. I temporarily hate cycling. On top of that a run around the Kentmere Horseshoe, up and down the Old Man of Coniston and Loughrigg Fell have kept the legs ticking over.

WP_20150314_15_58_15_Pro

After 3 days of Majorcan warmth this was a shock to the system

WP_20150314_16_20_40_Pro

Winter not letting go on High Street


1st ~ 8th: Weekly Stats: 15,528ft

March started as you would expect. It felt exactly like the start of the Meteorological Spring – dumping with wet snow as I ran over the Langdale Pikes. Mid-week found me working in the Cairngorms on some winter training courses for our staff. Yet by the end of the week, the weather was finally warming up and with it the running needed to move up a gear and so I ran around the ‘Skyline’ of the Ian Hodgson Memorial fell race route, four hours of great running.

About Richard Talbot

An accomplished fell-runner as well as being a keen climber and mountaineer. Since 2005 he has worked for the UK based manufacturer Mountain Equipment and is currently Director of Product. He has worked in the outdoor industry for over 15 years.
This entry was posted in #BG20, Fell Running Diaries, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

